Hondo's Bar

Used game sales

gunsmithx

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB123249378212700025.html

The article talks about gamestops earnings. A huge chunk of that comes from used game sales and I'm curious to see if people think that publishers and developers should get a cut of that? personally i don't think so myself as I'm pretty sure that I've never heard of any sector where that happens(though I'm sure someone will now pull one up) but I can understand why they think it takes from new game sales though I havn't seen a study done yet plus how many people would still purchase some of these games if they had to pay the normal price. Some of the way they are trying to get around it though are intriguing.

That's a toughie. As an author, I would prefer people buy my book new as I don't get paid when they buy a used copy from someone else. Or if you lend it. However, the fact that you can resale a book or CD or DVD makes absolutely no sense considering that you can't make a copy. What's the difference? I'm still making a potential profit off something that doesn't belong to me. I dunno. I like to think that games, movies, and books should assign some of the resale profit to developers and musicians. Then I think about selling my car. Kia already made a tidy sum from me, do I really want to have to give them more if I sell it? One would think that's because it's your property you could do what you want with it. It becomes tricky when you take intellectual property into account. I mean, that was one of the issues that caused the writer's strike, wasn't it?

yeah it always looks different when you look as the producer or as a consumer. Personally I don't think gamestop or any store will ever give back money on used sales but you never know, I also wonder if best buy at some point won't try it's hand at the used market due to how much money is there.

this topic drives me crazy. its huge on kotaku.