Hondo's Bar

Hondonian Culture

The NZA

1524857_l.jpg

Previously, id wanted to do a thread about other sites that referenced/pointed to us, or anything about our community not actually featured here on our pages. I still havent tossed much together, but in that vein, i thought id post the interview about us conducted by new member Undercover Blonde for a journalism class, about a creative endeavor. its mostly about us, anyway, so here's what i answered:

Where did Hondosbar.com come from?

Hondo is a great John Wayne movie. Hondo's Bar took from that, in that it was used in a book called Preacher that really stuck with me when i read it in college, really great graphic novel.

given that a lot of our original crowd (irish/UK) came over from a community that was about that very book, it just fit, when i took over the board years ago.

Does it have anything to do with what you went to school for?

Eh, yes and no? i graduated with a BA in philosophy, and when i helped create the board in its original inception, i lead a philosophy forum within it to continue learning/sharing ideas. the community that built around this was its own thing, but much of the concept came from myself & friends (still on there) drinking and staying up all night bullshitting about philosophy, politics, movies, music etc. we just wanted to spread the conversation further & wider.

Do you feel it takes creativity to run the site and come up with fresh ideas?

I do, but less so. when it was smaller/more local, id have to work and make a lot more threads/topics to inspire conversation & debate. i still do this, anytime anything comes up in pop culture or otherwise - the more controversial, the better - but having an international community these days means by the time i get to creating a topic, its likely already there, and has several pages of talk going. its great.

What makes your site different than all the other sites out there?