Hondo's Bar

Cerebus

Mrdukey

Though I am no expert myself (I've only read a handful of issues) I would say yes, I'm still in the early "Conan the Barbarian only as an aardvark" stage and I'm told shit gets crazy different down the line. It's not a book I feel the urge to plow through but it's never failed to entertain.

So far it's been fun, of course I haven't yet reached the 90s so I'm anticipating a great deal of pain in the future.

What range of issues have been the best so far? I'm not that familiar with the world of Spiderman though I do remember Black Cat giving me the horn in my teens (the 80's!).

Short answer: Yes. As a fan of the comic book medium, Cerebus is definitely worth getting into.

Cerebus starts as a parody of Conan, with Sim trying very, very hard to draw like Barry Windsor-Smith (and mostly failing).

Then, maybe a year or so in, things start to build. The tone changes, the art starts to visibly improve every issue, the pacing improves and the layouts become more complex. Basically, Dave Sim formulates a grand, sweeping plan and he starts to take this shit very seriously, and it shows.

There are moments of Cerebus that I can only describe as "Epic". That word gets thrown around a lot on the internet, and it's unfortunate. There are moments that are comically hilarious. There are moments that don't make any fucking sense and are really weird, and then you read a little background, start making a timeline, and realize Dave Sim was probably having a nervous breakdown. But that book still came out.

Jaka's Story crushed me. It's an emotional rollercoaster. The comic book craft that went into that, into every panel and movement of time, even the way it's lettered is grand.