Hondo's Bar

William Messner-Loebs

The NZA

The arist behind such beloved books as The Maxx and Epicurus has fallen on very tought times. From here...

li020-artist-0105n.jpg

"People say I handle adversity well," says cartoonist Bill Messner-Loebs, 55, of Howell. "If you're going to be miserable about misfortune ... you're going to die of stress."

Despite misfortune and many setbacks, the cartoonist keeps his sense of humor.

By Kurt Anthony Krug / Special to The Detroit News

HOWELL -- During the past several years, Bill Messner-Loebs has been in a car accident, lost his house, had his mobile home stolen and been unemployed.

But the self-taught artist, who earned a living as an illustrator for such famous comic books as Wonder Woman and Batman, has kept his sense of humor.

"People say I handle adversity well -- that's nice to hear," said Messner-Loebs, 55, of Howell.

"It's not really an option. If you're going to be miserable about misfortune for four years, you're going to die of stress."

Any one of the misfortunes would send a lesser man spinning out of control, but Messner-Loebs learned at an early age to let things roll off his back.

He was born with a cancerous tumor on his right arm, which had to be amputated while he was still an infant.

"I've been dealing with questions about my arm for 55 years," he said. "I have no sense that I lost anything. Sure, it's inconvenient sometimes, especially when I'm carrying three bags of groceries. That's when I think it'd help if I had another arm.

"I feel my parents raised me well. They told me I can do anything and not how I can't do anything."

As a youngster, Messner-Loebs started doodling, which took on more artistic forms. Eventually, he got jobs working as an illustrator for mainstream publishers of comic books such as Johnny Quest, Batman, Flash, The Maxx, Thor and Wonder Woman.