Hondo's Bar

Milk Myths

Iambaytor

So I just saw this come across my facebook feed and one of my old classmates who is a dairy farmer pretty much deconstructed it point by point. I've known for a while that the anti-milk campaigns were pretty much bullshit but, not being a dairy farmer myself, didn't quite have the information to debunk it. So here we go.

Myth 1 – You Need Cow’s Milk to Get Calcium

Like it or not, milk is not the best source of calcium. It may be hard to believe but the calcium contained in cow’s milk is barely absorbable to the human body.

Thankfully, a milk-free diet won’t leave you deprived of calcium. The most calcium-rich foods on the planet comes from plants, especially leafy greens such as kale, spinach, and broccoli.

Nobody ever claimed cow's milk was the ONLY source of calcium, however this article lies blatantly by claiming that kale and spinach are the richest sources. Accounting for absorbability, low fat mozzarella cheese has 95% of your daily value in 100 grams, whereas the best green (watercress) has 12% daily value in 100 grams. Important to note that 100 grams of greens is more than a cup. Tofu is actually a decent source because it is fortified to have 35% daily value.

Myth 2 – Cow’s Milk Will Give You Strong Bones

Much along the same lines as we need cow’s milk to get calcium, we are also told that cow’s milk is how we get nice, strong, and healthy bones. Unfortunately, this couldn’t be further from the truth. In fact, this ridiculous myth is so dangerous that I can’t believe marketers are allowed to get away with it.

Research has proven that milk actually depletes calcium from our bones and increases fracture risk, which is why the countries with the highest rate of osteoporosis are the ones where people drink the most milk!